You Need to Format the Disk in Drive Before You Can Use It

Just installed Emuelec and everything works great on my brand new T95max+, games, bios etc.
I really want to say thanks to everyone working on this wonderful project.

I have few question if you can help.
When insert my SD (64GB) on Windows 10, I see 3 partitions and Windows Keep asking me “You Need to Format the Disk in Drive Before You Can Use It” about H partition.

Capture

I suppose formatting partition H can harm Emuelec, so I never do. My concern is to accidentally format it when in hurry.

Is there a way to stop Windows asking to format H partition? Or should I format it?

I’m new to this kind of stuff:

There is an option to switch to RetroArch, what is its use?

remove the assigned drive letter.

disable the emulationstation frontend.

1 Like

What’s the advantage?
What’s the difference between emulationstation, Emuelec and RetroArch?

Do you mean removing drive letter using Disk Management or by prompt diskpart?
I would like to try but don’t know if I’m so brave :sweat_smile:

You don’t need to do anything, just ignore the error, its because there is a partition Windows can’t access, the partition you need to use is already mounted EEROMS, ignore the others.

1 Like

emuelec is the complete build, like different linux variants.

emulationstation is a fancy frontend.

retroarch is the emulator backend.

using disk managment is fine - just dont do anything else than removing drive letter.

1 Like

In this case he does not need to use disk management, the partition giving the error is EXT4 (storage) which is not supported on Windows, the only thing to do is ignore the error. The only time he needs to use disk management, is when EEROMS is not mounted, which if you look at the screenshot its clearly mounted on I:\ already

Adding: Your suggestion of removing the assigned letter WILL work, but he will need to do this every-time he inserts the SD, which is why ignoring the error would be much faster.